Delhi to Rohtak on six lanes soon

December 14th, 2006

Even as construction is on at the Delhi-Gurgaon Expressway on NH 8, the National Highways Authority of India (NHAI) is set to convert the 57.3-km-long stretch from Delhi to Rohtak in Haryana to six-laned.

NHAI has already put out tenders for the major widening work, incorporating it under the National Highways Development Programme (NHDP) Phase III which involves upgradation of 10,000 kms of national highways across the country. The project to six-lane the highway stretch will cost Rs 486 crore. Once six-laned, the stretch will become an access-controlled route as intended for the Delhi-Gurgaon Expressway.

This stretch on NH 10 is just two-lane wide at present, unable to handle the heavy traffic volume in the area.

“The section of NH 10 from Delhi to Rohtak sees very heavy traffic with 25,000-30,000 passenger car units (PCUs) passing through most intersections. There are some 2-3 other national highways and major roads which also intersect the two-lane stretch adding to the traffic load. Also, there is very mixed traffic here from passenger vehicles movement between Delhi and Haryana to goods movement. On account of these issues, this section was included in NHDP-III. The tenders are out already and will be awarded by March 2007 after which the contractor will start work,” said a senior NHAI official.

Not only will the widened highway ease traffic flow to and from Delhi into Rohtak side of Haryana but will also develop the Bahadurgarh-Rohtak section. The six-laning will start from Km 29.70 on NH 10 and complete at Km 87 even as the existing two lanes will be strengthened. The project will also include construction of two bypasses enroute to Bahadurgarh and Rohtak. A 13-km-long bypass will skirt NH 10 clear of Bahadurgarh and another 24.74-km-long bypass will lead upto Rohtak town. Land acquisition for the project is largely completed except for some area required for the twin bypasses.

“Some four vehicular underpasses and pedestrian passages will be incorporated along the route. There are 4-5 major intersections leading to Najafgarh, Jhajjar, Sonepat and other areas which will have to be taken care of through grade separators and interchanges besides railway over bridges, restrengthened pavements and traffic signage. Provision will also be made for service lanes along the area so people living in villages and settlements along the highway can cross over with ease. The Build-Operate-Transfer (BOT) project will ensure a design speed of 80-100 km per hour once the six-laning is completed,” added the official.


Entry Filed under: Gurgaon Traffic News

Related News:

1 Comment

  • 1. gurgaon india&hellip  |  March 9th, 2007 at 6:04 am

    gurgaon india

    I Googled for something completely different, but found your page…and have to say thanks. nice read.

Trackback this post